Frequently Asked Questions
How much are dues and when do they need to be paid?
Dues are $300 and are due February 28, 2023 for the calendar year 2023.
When do have to provide my water reading?
The water reading is required to be uploaded on the website by October 31st each year. Please see the Water Reporting Form for more details or reach out to the Water Committee Chair.
Beginning November 2023, all residents are required to report water usage monthly. In Colorado the water year runs from November 1 through October 31st. PCMHOA needs to submit an accounting of the water usage monthly and to do so, each member of the association needs to read their meter each month. Annually, PCMHA also has to submit a comprehensive water usage report to the state including block and lot ownership, meter permits for those lots, evaporation estimates of ponds, total depletion (in house & Irrigation) of individual lots and collectively for the Association.
Can I or a family member live in the RV/Camper?
Equipment on Property:
Can I have a shipping container on my property during construction?
Are snowmobiles allowed on roads in PCM?
No, per Grand County regulations. If snowmobiles are seen on roads, contact the Grand County Sheriff's Office.
Are ATVs allowed on roads in PCM?
Typically only for property maintenance purposes. See Grand County regulations for ATVs on county roads for other purposes.
Why is there a pond and what is it used for?
I see algae/weeds in the pond - is that a problem?
Different chemicals have been tried as needed to control the algae/weeds in the pond that will not harm pets. The Fire Department have confirmed that they can use their hoses in the pond even with algae/weeds.
Who maintains the roads in PCM?
All roads in our neighborood are owned and maintained by county. Any utility or construction work affecting the roads or ditched requires a permit from Grand County Road and Bridge department. For any issues related to roads, please contact the PCM Road Committee.
When do the roads get plowed when it snows?
Grand County is responsible for plowing the roads. 3 inches of snow must fall for them to plow.
Short Term Rental:
There are loud parties/neighbors late at night. What do I do?
Colorado Law states that "Quiet Hours" are 7pm to 7am. Please contact the Grand County Sheriff's Office if there are disturbances.
PCM is a Firewise Community - does that mean I can get a discount on my homeowners insurance?
It depends on your insurance carrier but many companies do provide a discount. To stay a Firewise Community, it is imperative that all homeowner follow the Forestry Guidelines in the Rules & Regulations section 3.8.
What is a defensive space?
The Grand County Wildfire Council and Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) provides information on creating a Defensible Space, an area that includes your home and immediate surroundings that if properly conditioned can help protect your home from a wildfire. The PCM HOA Forestry Web Page provides a listing of additional CSCF Defensible Space Wildfire Mitigation items recommended for PCM property owner consideration.
What is ladder limbing and what is required to be done on my property?
Limbing is required on your property and is the removal of all tree branches from the ground up to a height of 10ft above the ground (as measured from the lowest hanging point of a branch) for trees 30 feet or greater. For pine trees 8-30ft tall and within 10ft of the outer edge of anther tree, remove branches up to 1/3 the height of the tree. Aspen trees and some ornamental trees are exempt. Limbs within 10 feet of your home or overhang your home must be removed. See Rules & Regulations section 3.8 for more details.
Are there rules regarding how many trees can I remove from my property?
How and when can I burn slash piles?
Slash piles must be burned or removed within 18 months of their initial construction. Materials should be dried for 4 months prior to burning but a slash pile can be burned earlier if it contains significant portion of dry dead wood. Slash piles may only be burned in the winter and require a Grand County Open Burn Permit. Your slash piles will be inspected and approved by the County. You must call in to Grand County for permission on the day you want to burn as well as to record that you are burning. See DRC Design Standards section 27 for more details. Go to Grand County Burn Permit to request a permit and learn more about the process.
When are chipping days?
As an alternative to burning your slash, you can take it to the chipping days hosted by the Grand County Wildfire Council. Please see the Grand County Wildfire Council website for the latest scheduled dates.
What should be done with juniper bushes?
Juniper bushes are very flammable and it is highly recommended that you remove them from your property - especially 30 feet from your home. Consider taking your juniper slash to a chipping day instead of burning.
How should I pile up firewood on my property?
Firewood shall be cut to lengths not to exceed six feet and stacked on your property more than 30ft from the home. Landscaping or building material logs may be of any length and must be neatly stacked while in storage prior to their intended final use, more than 30ft from the home. See Rules & Regulations section 3.8 for more details.
What should I do about tall grasses near my home?
It is recommended that in late summer/early fall, you should mow grasses within 30 feet of your home to less than 6 inches in height.
DRC - New Home:
I am ready to build my new home, what do I do?
What are the new home size requirements?
My utility company says they have to cut the road. Is this allowed?
No, this is not allowed. The roads do not need to be cut for utilities. Any road cuts must be approved by the PCM DRC. The Grand County Road & Bridge department cannot give this approval. See DRC Design Standards section 9 for more details.
Can I live in my RV/trailer on my property while construction is underway?
No. You can live on your property once the home construction has been approved by the Grand County Building Inspector.
DRC - Other:
I want to replace my existing driveway with an asphalt drive. Do I need DRC approval?
Not if the asphalt driveway follows the exact lines of the existing driveway.
Is an asphalt driveway required?
No, although it will add to property value and resale.
I want to build a shed/detached garage. What do I do?
You need to submit a DRC Improvement Request form. Cross out the sections that do not apply. Full architectural plans are required as well as a diagram showing the location of the building on the property with the distances to the lot lines. Outbuildings must match the existing home, are restricted in size, and cannot be used as a secondary dwelling. See DRC Design Standards section 19 for more details.
I want to have a trampoline/swingset/zip line on my property. What do I do?
Can I build a fire pit on my property?
You need to submit a DRC Improvement Request form. Cross out the sections that do not apply. Full plans are required as well as a diagram showing the location of the fire pit on the property with the distances to the lot lines. Wood burning fire pits must be constructed with a 10 ft radius of non combustible material (rock, concrete). See DRC Design Standards section 21 for more details.
Are there limitations when I can have a wood burning fire in my fire pit?
Yes, per Grand County rules there are no open fires in a Stage 2 Fire Ban.
I need to replace my deck/deck railing, do I need DRC approval?